Rox Burkey – Blog Place

Review by Rox Burkey

This is the first time I have read any books by Author N.E. Brown. I am glad I started with this book, even though it is Book Two of a two-part series. This story stands alone. Our hero, Carson Change, has some flashback issues to his time in Vietnam. Recently discharged from rehab and trying to get his life in order, takes a right turn when his long-time love interest, Amy, doubts him.

It was easy to relate to Carson when he recognizes he needs work, friends, and a fresh start. He became an honest man at this point for me. The turning point in Amy and Carson’s relationship was illustrated by the author expertly in this section.

Amy approached Eric. “Are you all right? Did you hit Carson, first?”

“No, Amy, the guy went wacko and attacked me. I tried to apologize, but he threw me to the floor, and I hit my head. He told me to keep my hands to myself, and if I ever touched you again, he’d really hurt me.”

Amy turned to Carson and saw the terror on his face. “Is that what happened, Carson? You were jealous?”

As he embarks on the journey to set his life in order. Will his future include Amy? Can Carson dismiss his guilt over not being enough for Amy? These questions plague him as the author characterizes, in detail, the era in North Texas, the struggles of a wounded veteran, and uncertain love built on strong passion.  

Barriers thrown between this couple make their struggle harder. Though they love one another deeply, the issues are not easily overcome until they must make the tough choices. I recommend this book for those who like excellent character development, a hero you want to succeed, and some great romance. You’ll need to read to the end to find out the sacrifices they must make. If you are like me and started with Book 2, follow me to get Book 1 on your wish list.

About the Author

N. (Nancy) E. Brown is an award-winning author and has published over eight novels. Her lifelong interest in Texas history inspires her to create true-to-life fictional characters from the past. The Galveston, 1900, Indignities Series, is a six-book series that takes you on a journey through Texas history, as seen through the eyes of a young English woman

Carson Chance, P. I., Over the Edge, and The Rain Man Murders are Mrs. Brown’s latest Romantic Suspense novels and place you in the crossfires of solving crimes in the 1960’s and 1970’s in Dallas, Texas.

Mrs. Brown lives in East Texas with her husband and continues to write historical fiction. She believes that life is an adventure, and behind every experience is a story that waits to become her next novel.

Find her on Facebook

Follow her on Twitter

Follow her on Amazon

Related Content:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.