Rox Burkey – Blog Place

Scroll down for Giveaway!

Even with all her experience, Gloria Bachman, retired banker and candy entrepreneur, didn’t see this coming. 

Sweeties, the beloved Comfort chocolate shop, was ready for its cameo in advertising extraordinaire Jazzy Mezcal’s famous travel and food show! Comfort town folks had worked hard all summer to get their shops Hallmark-movie ready. On the eve of the TV crews overtaking the town, Gloria’s Chamber of Commerce welcome party gets drenched in a wicked rainstorm. Locals call it a “blue norther,” and a dreaded agent of change. Flooding seems like the worst of their problems until the celebrity TV host turns up dead.

In shock, Gloria’s friends turn to her to figure out who could be responsible for such a disaster. With the TV crew and guests in town for the 8th Street Market’s annual shopping event, suspects are endless. Reluctant to get involved, Gloria would much rather focus on the delicious romance with Mason Lassiter. And she would if a frenemy from Kerrville didn’t haunt her every step. Now as Gardener Rogers treads on her turf, everything feels suspicious. 

With all eyes on Gloria to find the truth behind Jazzy Mezcal’s untimely death, she indulges her curiosity for problem solving while trying to disguise how unsure she is about the future with her boyfriend. Disruption in Mason’s world, mayhem in Comfort, and one epic chocolate disaster rouse Gloria to action and make her decide what’s worth fighting for. All she can say for sure, is that no one is finding any comfort in Comfort.

Click to Purchase!

Exquisite Small-Town Connections

In Finding Comfort, Ms. Kimberly Fish continues the story of Gloria Bachman, Chocolatier and co-owner of Sweeties, the best fine chocolate shop for miles. Comfort is a small town inviting to outsiders and home to familiar characters. Characters are richly developed with distinctive personalities and are relatable, illustrating realistic points of view based on their experiences. Folks in this community stand by one another. Gloria has a heart of gold and tends to help even if it harms her. Gloria’s welcoming party starts magnificently, only to drown in a sudden storm of epic proportions, culminating with the star of Jazzy Mezcal’s travel and food show being found dead the following day.

Returning from Dallas, Mason appears at Gloria’s door first thing in the morning. He is the handsome and eligible owner of the high-end clothing store, with an eye on more than creating new spaces in Comfort. Gloria’s growing attraction to Mason Lassiter highlights her fears he won’t commit to her. He says the right things yet holds a few secrets that fuel Gloria’s insecurities. They are both mature, strong-willed individuals, and with their life history comes Mason’s son and Gloria’s former husband. The baggage needs unpacking if they hope to have their relationship move forward.

The twists and turns of this mystery are fluid yet keep the action and excitement bubbling from start to finish. Conversations, relationships, jealousy, and vindictive undermining grow the list of potential suspects. Gloria uses her connections and logical insights to uncover potential clues, while Mason supports her activities in unexpected ways. Fans of wholesome romance will enjoy flipping the pages of Finding Comfort to find the killer and see if this delightful couple has a chance. Ms. Fish does a great job bringing readers and fans to Comfort Texas with book 2 of the Comfort and Joy Trilogy—an excellent series to enjoy this holiday season.

Kimberly Fish has been a professional writer in marketing and media for over thirty years, with regular contributions to area newspapers and magazines. As an accidental historian, she wrote two novels, The Big Inch and Harmon General, both based on factual events in Longview, Texas, that changed world history. Kimberly also offers a set of contemporary women’s fiction novels and novellas, based in the Texas Hill Country, that reveal her fascination with characters discovering their grit and sweet, second chances; all four of the novels have won distinguished awards. Finding Comfort is her latest novel, the second book in the Comfort and Joy Trilogy.



a Rafflecopter giveaway
10/24/23Reading by MoonlightReview
10/24/23Hall Ways BlogBONUS Stop
10/25/23The Book’s DelightReview
10/25/23LSBBT BlogBONUS Stop
10/27/23Jennie ReadsReview
10/27/23The Page UnboundBONUS Stop
10/28/23The Plain-Spoken PenReview
10/29/23Rox Burkey BlogReview
10/30/23StoreyBook ReviewsReview
10/31/23Carpe Diem ChroniclesReview
11/01/23Boys’ Mom ReadsBONUS Stop
11/01/23It’s Not All GravyReview
11/02/23Forgotten WindsReview

Related Content:

    3 replies to "Finding Comfort"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.